On the road again

Today I left Magnetic Island for the open road.
IMG_1492.JPG

Well, actually, I left on a Greyhound bus bound for Airlie Beach and my next WWOOFing position. But either way, in leaving Magnetic Island, I also left my two great hosts, George and Pen, who are incredible creative, ecological, and generous hosts! I learned a lot about permaculture gardening, soil rejuvenation breakthroughs, and lots of small island politics. Thank you so much for a lovely week with great conversations and great food! And, of course, do not forget their lovely chooks :)
IMG_1419.JPG IMG_1428.JPG IMG_1434.JPG

So when I arrived in Airlie Beach tonight, there were large groups of young-ins partying all along the main road in bars and hostels. Normally, this would be a regular scene to me. But to my surprise, or perhaps shock, the whole scene in Airlie seems odd. More than one busy bar in town? More backpackers than locals? Maybe 6 weeks at a yoga retreat and then a week on a small community island did this to me. In any case, I feel like a newbie in backpacker Disneyland, in search of at least an Aussie accent somewhere… but I doubt I’ll find it tonight. Ah well!

One thought on “On the road again

Leave a Reply

