Weekend at…

… Teresa and Pete’s (I really wanted to say Weekend At Bernie’s, but I wasn’t at Bernie’s place, I actually don’t even know a Bernie…) Anyway, back to the story – I spent last weekend at Teresa and Pete’s place, just across the road from Sanctuary Retreat. I was their guest for a few days, allowing me to see more of the sites around Mission Beach before heading off to my next locale. As soon as I arrived, I felt very spoiled – my own room with TWO beds in it, two DOUBLE beds, my own semi-outdoor bathroom (the cool kind, not the “why/how-did-they-forget-to-put-walls-in-here” weird kind), a tea and snack table, and my own private views of Garner’s Beach. Plus, it was decorated like this…
20140806-193930-70770846.jpg

During my few days staying with Teresa and Pete I learned a few things – advice, life lessons, or fun facts taught by random experiences. This was all obviously in addition to the multitude of things I learned from getting to know this couple over the past few weeks. Here is a list of a few of those things:

1) Tully Gorge is a beautiful place (see photos below)…but I imagine it’s much better enjoyed in a raft.
IMG_1339.JPG IMG_1161.JPG IMG_1344.JPG

2) The Blues Brothers is a great film.

3) Anyone can be a fisher(wo)man no matter how awkward and out of place you look doing it (notice the matching fishing rods?). Side note: we didn’t actually catch anything. Instead we hopped over to a local bar for a sneaky pre-dinner drink.
20140806-194647-71207588.jpg 20140806-194648-71208330.jpg

4) If you’re stressed out, whistle. You can’t be stressed while you’re whistling.

5) If you have the chance to climb a mountain (aka small hill for those unfit like me), do it. The view at the top, no matter how much you’re sweating and panting, will never get old.
IMG_1376.JPG IMG_1381.JPG

Plus, worst case scenario, this will be waiting for you at the bottom…
IMG_1366.JPG IMG_1359.JPG

6) Puppies are always cute. Even when they’re begging for food.
20140806-195000-71400005.jpg

7…) And many more military, history, local fun facts.

All in all, thank you so much Teresa and Pete for being such generous hosts! And I look forward to meeting up with you again :)

20140806-195121-71481100.jpg

Leave a Reply

