When in Rome…

…or when in Mission Beach, do as the locals. When I first arrived at Mission Beach, I was given a lift to Sanctuary from my hostel. I noticed something a little odd, or at least out of the ordinary for me – my driver wasn’t wearing shoes. I’ve seen people shoeless on beaches obviously, but we were in the middle of a rainforest in a gravely car park – so seeing this man without any shoes startled me a tad.

When I arrived at Sanctuary I learned that it was just what they practiced here. And according to the booklet below, walking barefoot has many benefits.

20140625-103143-37903482.jpg

20140625-103146-37906641.jpg
So today, after another long and gruelling day on the beach, I found myself walking barefoot up the road. The local vibe seems to be rubbing off on me.20140625-000044-44491.jpg

3 thoughts on “When in Rome…

Leave a Reply

